May Wrap-Up + June TBR

Well that last TBR went really well!!! Does the sarcasm work when I’m typing this out? For those of you who were following my progress from my May TBR, you weren’t wrong. I literally didn’t even start any of the books on my May TBR. I guess that shows that I wasn’t really interested in any of them.

I did read this month, but I was inundated with schoolwork as soon as the term started at the beginning of the month. I finished 2 e-ARCs that I received, Mobster’s Lament (here) and Surge (here), read 1 physical book, People Kill People (here), listened to one audiobook, Good Omens (here), and started another e-ARC, which will be reviewed shortly.

I am really excited for my reading this month because not only have I received my first physical ARC, but I am also participating in my first readathon, the Buzzwordathon, hosted by Kayla from BooksandLala. For the challenge I will be reading books with the word “You” in the title from June 12-18. My TBR for the readathon will be posted in the coming days and I will try to write daily posts to update my progress through the week.

This TBR will be made up of books that I will read outside of the readathon and because of my failure last month I will keep this one shorter and more open-ended.

Recursion

I listened to the audiobook of Blake Crouch’s other novel Dark Matter a few months ago and that cemented this title on my most anticipated of 2019 list. I was so excited when I received this book from the publisher and I am looking forward to the twists and turns I loved in Dark Matter to be copied and hopefully exceeded here.

The plot seems to be about a disease that affects memory and your perception of reality. This book sounds so good! I hope I’m not disappointed, but I think it will be great!

The Axeman’s Jazz

I read the third book in Ray Celestin’s City Blues Quartet series, Mobster’s Lament (here) last month and I really enjoyed the story, but I wished that I had more context in the story. I picked this up from the library, so I need to read it before it needs to go back, so I plan on finishing it before my readathon. I am excited to get back into the story and discover the beginnings of Ida and Micheal’s relationship as they solve their first crime together.

Radio Silence

This book has been recommended to me countless times, so I went out and got it from the library as well. I know it’s about a podcast and fan art, but nothing else, as I’m try to fly into it blind.

Finally, I think I will read The Rule of Thoughts, which was first on my May TBR, because I read the first book (reviewed here) a little over a month ago now and I need to make sure I read it before I forget everything that happened in the first book.

I hope this TBR is a more manageable size, but I hope I can get to more books this month than only these. Stay tuned for my Buzzwordathon TBR, which will be much more ambitious than this one. See you there and happy reading!

Leave a comment